OHV Awards

Oral History Victoria 2019 Award – Call for entries

Oral historians based in Victoria (anyone engaging with oral history) are encouraged to apply for this annual award judged by Oral History Victoria (OHV). The award is open to oral historians working in any field, across community, academic or professional history. The award winner will have been responsible for an oral history project or output that is innovative, excellent and inspirational.

Image courtesy of State Library of Victoria, Argus, ca 1940/1946, Women troops returning to Australia

Eligibility: To be eligible, projects / outputs must have been active (in creation and / or production) in 2018 and / or 2019. Applicants must be based in Victoria, though their project may involve oral history work interstate or overseas. Applicants need not be members of OHV, though they will be added to the OHV mail list and encouraged to join.

The award winner will receive a prize of $250, and all shortlisted applicants will also be posted on the OHV website. The judging panel may award a joint prize and / or Commendations for Excellence to outstanding runners-up. Shortlisted applicants will be invited to make a short presentation about their project or output at the OHV annual general meeting on Thursday 24 October 2019.

How to Apply: Applicants must email an application as a Word document or pdf attachment, to each of the three judges listed below, to reach them by the closing date, 16 September 2019.

 Your application must include:

  1. Applicant/s name (individual/s and organisational affiliation, if applicable)
  2. Project and/or output name, location and date/s.
  3. Applicant/s contact address, phone number, email and (where available) web address
  4. In no more than 500 words, a description of the project or output and an explanation of why it is deserving of an award for innovation and excellence in the creation, interpretation and / or presentation of inspirational oral history.
  5. A list of all outputs produced by the project, including website addresses where appropriate
  6. If a significant project output is a book, journal article, essay or some other format that can be provided to the judges, then one copy must be sent to each of the three judges at the following addresses:

Alistair Thomson (Chair of judging panel) alistair.thomson@monash.edu;

postal address: History Program, Monash University, 20 Chancellor’s Walk, Clayton 3800.

Elizabeth Triarico, elizabeth@coasit.com.au

postal address: Italian Historical Society & Museo Italiano, 189 Faraday Street, Carlton, 3053

Sarah Rood sjrood@waybackwhen.com.au

postal address: PO Box 2295, Caulfield Junction, 3161.


Past winners

Please click the links below for information about past winners and shortlisted entries.